How’s the weather?

 

Ooh look, another title that appears to bear no relevance to the subject matter… hang in there.

 

Who remembers what I’m doing at the moment to feed the family?  If you don’t, go here to refresh your memory.  It has been incredibly busy at work.  Strange how parcel delivery gets intense in the week before Christmas isn’t it? 

 

Last week it took 6 days to rack up 546 parcels in my area.  This week after 4 days I have already shifted 644.  With multiple drops that works out at about 500 stops. 

 

Let’s have a look at the exercise involved so far this week. 

 

500 times I have pulled on the hand-brake (park-brake if you live on the other side of the equator and drive on the other side of the road) with my left hand.  The muscle group that runs from the tip of the shoulder to the side of the neck aches.

 

500 times I have climbed out of the car (yes, I’m delivering in a sedan).  My right glute and hamstring haven’t cramped but are constantly giving me that tightening, ready to cramp feeling.  I think I have saved myself from cramps with good fluid management (more later).

 

500 times I have twisted and picked up one or more parcels from the box on the front passengers seat.  My left hand aches when I wake up in the morning. 

 

Not everyone is home.  Policy states that unless an authority is signed, we must leave a card and deliver the parcel to the nearest Post Office for future collection.  That is about one in five addresses.  100 times I have written a collection card.  My right hand aches and has a callous on the inside of the first knuckle of the ring finger (writers cramp).

 

500 times I have walked briskly or run from the car to the door and back.  Anything from 5 meters to 30 metres.  All in steel-capped boots.  My feet and calves ache.

 

500 times I have started and stopped the car.  I’m sure the brakes, battery and starter motor are aching.

 

But I only post funny things – or positive things – or both.

 

Aching joints mean old age is creeping up on me, so we won’t dwell on that too much.

 

Aching muscles means muscles are working and growing and burning calories.  Yay, finally some positiveness.

 

On Monday night I had a think back on that particular day and how it resembled most of the work days since mid-November.  Since I’m 45kg (100 lb) over my ideal weight I was thinking mostly of the calorie use versus intake.  I found a website that calculates base calorie requirements.  At my current height and weight with a sedentary activity level my daily caloric requirement is just a touch over 3100.  That would allow me to sit at a desk all day and maintain my current weight.  I did a quick mental tally of my calories for the day in question and it was comfortably over 5000.  Right there is the answer to why I haven’t lost any permanent weight since I started this job. 

 

Let’s talk about the weather and non-permanent weight loss.

 

It’s high summer south of the equator.  Summer solstice and all that jazz.  Over the last month where I live we have had temperatures ranging from between 16°C (61°F) to 24°C (75°F) minimum and 26°C (79°F) to 35°C (95°F) maximum.  This new job has me in a nice shaded shed from 7am to 9 or 10am.  Then I hit the road.  There is no point having air-conditioning in the vehicle because I’m in and out of it so much.  So from 10am to finishing time at between 2 and 5pm I am running and climbing stairs and carrying parcels in fairly high temperatures.

 

Here is what today looked like.  I got on the scales after breakfast but before dressing for work.  No good news there, but no surprises either.  During the day I drank six and a half litres of fluids (4.5 of water, 2 of diet soft drink).  6.5 litres weights 6.5 kilograms (14 pounds).  I also ate 4 sandwiches and 2 apples.  I didn’t go to the toilet all day.  When I got home I took off my heavy boots and jumped on the scales.  I had lost 1.4 kilograms (3 pounds).  That means I sweated 7.9 kilograms (17.4 pounds) of fluid. 

 

More about the weather and the view.

 

My work is in a residential area of a seaside suburb.  I have gone to the beach near here for almost 30 years.  I couldn’t remember when I last stopped and looked at the beauty of it all.  Sadly, familiarity does breed contempt.  But on Monday I was feeling a little fatigued, and stopped next to my car to take a couple of deep breaths.  As I did that I saw something that had been there everyday since before this country was born.  The ocean.  I was standing in the middle of a quiet street with some of the best ocean views I have ever seen.  I was so inspired that the next day I took the camera.

 

So I will sign off today by sharing a couple of photos with you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to How’s the weather?

  1. Al says:

    I luv vacations, enjoy!

  2. Unknown says:

    >>>That means I sweated 7.9 kilograms (17.4 pounds) of fluid.Mike, if you are representative of mail carriers, I think I now understand why dogs give chase. If you are 100 pounds overweight, then at least 15 pounds of that sweat must have been pure Wallaby Flavored Gravy. I bet dogs just loooooove Wallaby Flavored Gravy. [Don’t get angry; I’m in compliance with FatGuy Local Union 1021 rules, "Only a Fat Man Can Call Another Fat Man Fat."]Based on your pics I think we’re similarly sized I’m about 60 pounds over where I want to be (8% bodyfat or so) (down 30 since July, I keep reminding myself) and am starting a big push in the next week or so to get down into the right ballpark. This may involve a competition with Rocky, who is fat only in the same way that Fatty *was* fat – not fat by any ordinary meaning of the word but not as lean as he wants to be. In contrast, well, I may be powerful so I don’t *look* rotund, but I know that I am really fat. Dropping 45 pounds or so should put me in the 14-15% bodyfat range. I will blog the details and let you know, because you (and my blog readers) will no doubt find a Fatman Biathlon highly entertaining.

  3. Suzanne says:

    I’m the same way about the beach here. I grew up next to it and though I’ve not always lived by it. I just can’t make a trip to the beach exotic in my mind. It’s just run of the mill…

  4. cosmogrl says:

    Sounds like you’re working your butt off! Even if it’s NOT literally… hehehehe I have an affinity for the ocean–you are lucky to live so close. Thanks for the pics!–Wen 🙂

  5. Tony says:

    I quite like your blog! I hope you enjoy mine as well

  6. Nanget says:

    I live about 1000k’s south of you BIG Mike (which makes us practically next door neighbours) and the heat is that bad that the parking officers no longer walk from street to street. They are now driving from street to street, and fining many more people. Why can’t they take it easy and do less work like the rest of us try to do.

  7. Stephen says:

    At that rate (3lbs/day) you’ll be svelt again in no time.Aching, but svelt…

  8. Tom Stormcrowe says:

    Muse Monkey’s in the hospital, I just saw this at her blog. Prayers, folk!

  9. serf says:

    Wow! That’s some kind of a weight loss program. I think I’ll keep my desk job and cut back on the food supply.And thanks for the photos. I love the beach, but live about 10 hours from my favorite spots.Have a blessed day and keep drinking fluids.’rett

  10. 局限性 says:

    Merry christmas

  11. Unknown says:

    It is soooo cold here, I stopped in my tracks at the description of the weather and really couldn’t make my frozen brain concentrate. I wish I was where you are, never mind the cramping and what not. I would rather cramp from that than from shivering.

  12. Laura says:

    I live near a beach, (12 minutes to drive, 20 minutes to find a parking space. I don’t really go there durning the day; I think i last saw the beach in daylight about two years ago. I do go there at night. I lenjoy sitting out on the sand and forgetting all the things going on behind me. When Ii left on Wednesday, high of thr day was 67, low was 38, and sunny. I’m home at mom and dads for the hoilidays. high of 34 with freezing rain…

  13. Kelly says:

    Just dropped in to say Merry Christmas! You live in a beautiful country where it is warm all the time AND you work so near the beach? You are so lucky…=)Kelly

  14. Stephen says:

    God Bless you Mike, for taking the time and effort to talk with, or at least listen to, these folks. Speaking as an ‘oldie’ myself, who lives alone, I treasure the moments that I get to have some human interaction. It’s a real gift to me. And, I hope, to them.Merry Christmas to you, the Missus, and the Cadets.steve

Leave a Reply

