Happy anniversary, you bastard.

Today is my 14th wedding anniversary.  I suspect the relationship I have with my wife is so strong because of this single amazing coincidence; she also has her wedding anniversary today.  With such a significant life-fact in common it was inevitable we would end up together.

I got her a wonderful 3 pack of chick-flicks called the wedding pack (The Wedding Planner, The Wedding Singer, Muriel’s Wedding).  It matches the occasion reasonably well and it also matches the home theatre system I installed on the weekend.

And in return my darling bride gave me… nothing.  Well, something.  Eventually.  Apparently.  She hasn’t bought it yet.  Probably doesn’t even know what she’s getting, truth be known.  But I did get a headbutt in the aftermath of a derogatory comment I made about the lack of immediacy of the gift and its associated underlying message regarding her level of commitment to the relationship.

But who really cares.  The swelling will go down eventually and I’ve got a Sansui 520W Dolby 5.1 channel surround sound system at my disposal.

 

UPDATE:  I have been presented with the symbol of her undying love and devotion to me.  According to Professor Wiki the 14th anniversary is traditionally represented as the ivory anniversary.  In more modern times (and I’m nothing if not modern) it would seem the 14th anniversary is the “3-pack DVD anniversary”.  Bryan Adams – the best of me.  Chick-flicks and Canadian crooning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Happy anniversary, you bastard.

  1. Baby Blue in Texas says:

    Happy 14th!  Now that I am married to the right person (the first one was just so that I would be blessed with my daughter) I just know we will be as happy as you sound and I will be the one doing the head butting due to the lack of extravagant (sp?) gifts on his part.  I will have to remind him, as I do every year, when our anniversary is but as long as I get some acknowledgement that he knows the day, I’ll wait for the gift.
     
    Just for the record, sex is not a gift and cannot be considered one.  It’s just the whipped topping on the cake (of course that could be the whipped topping on the …!
     
    Rene’

  2. Fat says:

    Happy Anniversary!!
    ~ Fat Chick

  3. Courtney says:

    Happy Anniversary!!
     
    14 years?!  I can’t believe it.  I can barely stomach the thought of being with someone long enough to share a cup of coffee in the morning.  😉

  4. BIg Mike In Oz says:

    Rene – spot on.  Sex isn’t a gift, it’s a miracle.
     
    FFC – thanks.
     
    Courtney – that’s because you haven’t met me yet.  There’s someone out there for you.  It just takes time.  Lots of time.  Just stay in the game.

  5. Tom Stormcrowe says:

    Happy belated Anniversary, Mike!

  6. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signages, advertising displays, digital sign, advertisement displays and advertising players? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[hjcjiechjgibj]

Leave a Reply

