Not a race report, a whole of life report.

 

Man, what a ride!

 

A month ago I told you about a 2 day track carnival in Rockhampton which was my first track race in nearly 20 years and the purging of a demon.

 

A week later I argued for extra time to submit a race report on the race carnivals that occurred on the subsequent weekend.  I failed in my promise.  I’m sorry.  So let’s catch up on everything that’s happened since my last visit to this neglected realm.

 

Work… I’m not going to bum you out with how long and hard I have to work to feed this tribe.

 

University… part of my absence can be blamed on undertaking a “summer intensive” subject.  Instead of 3 or 4 hours a week for several month, some subjects can be done in a shorter timeframe; 7 hours a day for 5 straight days then 2 weeks to submit any assessment.  It’s heavy going but it buys me some extra time during the semester because some time next year I’ll only have to juggle 3 subjects instead of 4.  As for the 4 subjects I did in the July-November semester, results are in and I’m happy.  A pass, a distinction and 2 high distinctions.  Not too shabby when you hear the subject titles;

Numerical Analysis

Thermodynamics and Electricity

Environment, Technology and Sustainability

Waves, Fluids and Optics

I nailed a very heavy science semester.

 

Family… my kids are still the cutest.  My wife is still the greatest.  I still don’t deserve half the love and respect they throw my way.

 

Cycling 1… here’s the meat and potatoes of the post.  I’m going to jump all over the place with this one.  Firstly, but most recently, I rode a 750m timetrial on the local velodrome clocking 56.42 seconds.  Enough to place me 9th at our national championships for my age group this year.  Over 8 seconds out of gold (a new world record) but only 4.2 seconds off the bronze.  The exciting part is that the national were on an indoor board track and the competitors no doubt had their best tyres on their best wheels.  I did my time on the nearby outdoor concrete track with 20 year old wheels and training tyres.  The state titles are in March and as you can guess I’m looking forward to them.

 

I promised a race report last time I wrote.  Here it is.

 

Friday Nov 16 2007.  Marykhana is a track carnival that is in its 21st year.  It’s a 2 hour drive from home.  I arrived there knowing that there was definitely a separate category for masters racing rather than the combined category the previous week that saw 70 year old men competing against teenagers.  Strong, smart and old is just as good as stupid, relentless and young but I don’t like the pain that is necessary to prove my point.

 

I was handicapped in the back half of the masters field on the basis of me being unknown.  I proved the handicapper right by taking 3rd (behind 2 of my clubmates) in the first event, an Australian specialty event known as a wheelrace in which I started off 50 metres in a 1000 metre race.  They moved me back to 40 metres for the 1600 metre wheelrace and I won that in a photo that took 25 minutes to decide.  The other rider in the photo was member of the host club so it wasn’t surprising that they challenged me and my 2 clubmates to a duel (team sprint) which they won.  Here’s where I promised my team that I wouldn’t mention that I beat the opposition but my teammates couldn’t hold my wheel and the race is decided on the last rider not the first.

 

Next was another bizarre track event called simply the elimination (or miss and out or devil takes the hindmost – it’s such an esteemed event that TwinSix have a t-shirt dedicated to it).  The last title gets closest to describing the event.  A group of riders starts together and then each lap the last rider over the line is eliminated until only the winner remains.  Basically every 300 metres you have to sprint to survive.  It’s OK if there’s only 5 riders to begin with, 16 riders not so much.  When we were down to 3 riders left (me, the fastest of the host club guys and one of my teammates) my teammate sat back and took the elimination to let me rest up for an extra lap before the final sprint.  Another first for me.

 

The last race of the night was a regular scratch race.  A group got away which included one of my guys so we just rode tempo to avoid being lapped and let him do his thing out front, which was 2nd, I took the group sprint for 4th.

 

A nice nights outing that ended with my prize money comfortably outweighing my expenses.

 

Saturday Nov 17 2007.  An hour further up the road from the previous night.  The 4BU Cycling Spectacular has also existed since before I started cycling in the ‘80s.  And again they mercifully segregated the old farts from the youngsters.  Sadly my results from the previous night followed me and in the first race (800 metre wheelrace) I was handicapped at 5 metres.  I fought and struggled through that race and arrived at the finish in 5th.  4th paid $10.  Race 2 was a 1000 metre wheelrace with me off 10 metres and again I didn’t figure.  The next race was, um, rained on.  And it rained on and off for over 3 hours before the officials finally abandoned racing.

 

I didn’t have accommodation booked because 300km isn’t too far to drive home.  After winning $260 the previous night I didn’t win a cracker and started driving home with a very disappointed outlook.  Then I got upset with myself.  I’d slept in the car the week before and done OK the next day, why couldn’t I do it again.  Especially since I’d had a better first day and was in with a shot.  I’d only gone about 30km when I convinced myself to stay and race on the Sunday when they restarted.  Then I also decided to treat myself to a motel room so I could have a shower and a mattress.

 

Sunday Nov 18 2007.  On Saturday there were over 100 riders at the track.  Only around 40 showed up Sunday morning to complete the program so the organisers combined a few categories.  The feature race which was supposed to have separate events for men, women and masters was rejigged into a single race; a 1600 metre wheelrace.  I was put off 100 metres… the backmarker of the masters but that 100 metres between me and scratch contained nearly a dozen men between 18 and 35 years old (here’s 4… Grant Irwin, Miles Olman, Malcolm Rudolph, Lindsay McMaster).  Fortunately the likes of Scott and Alan Davis didn’t show up for the restart.  Again I finished mid-field.

 

The next race was again back to masters only.  Thank God.  It was an unknown distance… a scratch race where only the chief commissaire knows when the final lap will be signalled.  It’s hard work watching all the other contenders and watching the officials every lap to try and get some hint of an early twitch when the bell’s about to be rung.  My 25 inch thighs prevailed.  And won.

 

Down to the finale and it’s a 15 lap motor paced race.  13 laps of taking turns behind a motorbike that slowly winds up from an initial 35kph to a touch over 50kph before pulling off with 2 to go to let us fight it out.  I won again.  A total of $110 for the second carnival against the room I rented at $103.27 for a profit of six bucks.

 

And that was the status of the whole weekend too – 2 entry fees, 600km of fuel, 2 nights in motel rooms and a punctured Vittoria Pista Evo CS equals $352.  Prize money equals $360.  Even my accountant agrees it was a profitable weekend.  Sadly, not profitable enough to turn pro.  But satisfying.

 

And next up is a thing called the Summer of Cycling… December 15-18.  4 carnivals in 4 days.  And it’s only a 90 minute drive from home.  4 days in a row.  Because this series is in the capital city all the big names will be there so I’m looking forward to assessing myself against the same people I’ll be going head to head with in March at the State Titles.

 

Next Thursday I’ll have handed in that last assignment and then I’ll most likely tell you all a wonderful story of how I faired over the weekend.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Not a race report, a whole of life report.

  1. Boz says:

    Sounds like some fun racing, job well done. BTW, how big are the crowds for these races ? Is there plenty of refeshments served like at the Belgian tracks ? Can’t wait for your next report.

  2. judi says:

    Big Mike – Jim said you might be able to recommend a good track racing book for someone wanting to get into racing. Please email me at judir6@gmail.com if you know of one. Thanks!

  3. Unknown says:

    Wow gold world of warcraft gold , cheap woW gold buy wOW Gold wow power leveling, wOW Gold  power leveling, warcraft power leveling

  4. Unknown says:

    cheap wow gold What are the main differences . cheapest wow goldcheap wow gold What are the main differences . cheapest wow gold between the Honor System and the Arena System. free online games The Honor System and Arena System are. mp3 two different subsets of World of Warcraft’s PvP combat, based around . mp3 player different venues of play and a each . mp3 player featuring a different set of rewards. mp3 player Honor points and battleground marks of honor earned in . mp3 players the various battlegrounds are used to purchase Honor rewards, while Arena points which . mp4 are derived from Arena team ratings are used to purchase Arena rewards. world of warcraft gold Honor points are . wow earned primarily in battlegrounds (but also in World PvP in both Outland and Azeroth), while Arena points can solely be earned by participating . wow europe in Arena combat. wow geld Read more about Arenas, and learn more about the honor system. wow geld with the Honor system guide and Honor system FAQ. wow gold How does the Honor System affect or. wow gold relate to the Arena System. wow gold Anyone serious . wow gold about battling in. wow gold kaufen Arenas is well-advised to supplement their. wow gold kaufen armor with some Honor rewards. wow level service By earning Honor. wow power leveling in battlegrounds, you also gain valuable . wow powerlevel experience in PvP situations that will . wow powerleveling serve you well in Arena combat. The honor rewards include powerful epic armor pieces that are loaded with. PvP-centric stats such as resilience and stamina. There are also some items obtained in World PvP you might want to consider. Once you’ve "geared up," it’s also fun to go back to the battlegrounds. and see how your . performance has improved with. your new equipment. However, having one set of rewards, whether Arena or Honor, is not necessary to excel or participate in the other system.
     

  5. Unknown says:

    best mp3 player IGN Down Under conjured up . Bluetooth Headset an interview with one of Blizzard’s Aussie . Bluetooth Headsets designers about World of WarCraft, its success, plus Sunwell. buying gold world of warcraft Isle which is included in the next. canon digital camera big patch release. canon digital camera IGN AU: Sunwell Isle is part of the next big patch. cell phone accessories Can you tell us a little. eve isk about the raid dungeon Sunwell Plateau and the five . gold wow man dungeon Magister’s Terrace. lecteurs mp3 How is it significant . lotro gold to the world as a whole. mp3 mp4 player Julian Morris: Sunwell Isle is located . mp4 just north of Silvermoon City, and contains two new dungeons: a 5-person normal or Heroic dungeon (Magister’s Terrace) where . mp4 players will face Prince Kael’thas, and a 25-player . mp4 player raid dungeon (Sunwell Plateau) culminating . portable dvd players in a battle against Kil’jaeden, one of the most . portable mp3 players challenging boss encounters we have developed to date. runescape money In addition, the island has . wow gold 1000 a new daily quest hub, and the daily quest. wow golds limit is being increased from 10 to 25. wow leveling The Aldor and Scryer . wow lvl storylines will also reach their. wow lvl 70 finale on Sunwell Isle, as the Shattered Sun Offensive . wow or reputation is introduced. From a lore perspective, this patch is of great importance. to the Warcraft world. Sunwell Plateau will serve as the . final chapter of the Burning Crusade storyline. Players will learn additional . back story for Kael’thas and they will fight to. survive as a critical chapter in the Sunwell’s history unfolds.
     

  6. Unknown says:

    adapter laptop
    CA01007-0920 FMV-AC314 fujitsu 19V 4.22A 80w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    SA70-3105 6500175 gateway 19V 3.16A 60w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    6500175 SA70-3105 gateway 19V 3.68A 70w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop

    0220A1990 ADP45CB gateway 19V 4.74A 90w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    gateway 12v 13.33a 160w 6 hole adapter laptop
    xt276 PPP014H hp 19V 7.1A 135w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    PA-1750-01 hp 19V 3.95A 75w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    PPP009X PW-AC003 hp 19V 4.74A 90w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    ZD7000 hp 18.5V 1.1A 20w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop

    hp 19V 4.74A 90w 4.8mm*1.7mm adapter laptop
    hp 19V 4.74A 90w 7.4mm*5.0mm adapter laptop
    347438-001 hp 19V 8.42A 160w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    hp 18.5V 4.9A 90w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop
    hp 18.5V 4.9A 90w flat dc adapter laptop
    PA-1121-02H PA-1121-12H hp 18.5V 6.5A 120w 5.5mm*2.5mm adapter laptop

    hp 18.5V 3.5A 65w 7.4mm*5.0mm with pin

Leave a Reply

